Messages of Support – 2021 Annual Convention (Jalsa Salana) of Ahmadiyya Muslim Community UK


The 55th Annual Convention (Jalsa Salana) of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community UK received numerous messages of support from across the UK and internationally. A selection of these is presented below.

The Rt Hon Boris Johnson, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom


The Rt Hon Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada


Rt Hon Keir Starmer, Leader of Her Majesty’s Official Opposition and Leader of the Labour Party.


Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP, Leader of the Liberal Democrats


Rt Hon Nicola Sturgeon MSP – First Minister Scotland


Rt Hon Ian Blackford MP, SNP Westminster Leader


Dr. Jenny Harries OBE – Chair UK Health Security Agency


Hon. Anthony Y. Brewah – Attorney-General & Minister of Justice Sierra Leone


Honorable Jamie Raskin – Member of U.S. Congress (Democrat-Maryland)


Katrina Swett – President, Lantos Foundation for Human Rights & Justice & Former Chair of U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom


Hon. Deb Schulte – Canadian MP for King – Vaughan (Ontario)


Frank Heinrich – Member of the German Bundestag


Rt Hon Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park PC – Minister of State for Pacific and the Environment


LORD (TARIQ) AHMAD OF WIMBLEDON – Minister of State for South Asia and the Commonwealth & Prime Minister’s Special Representative on Preventing Sexual Violence in Conflict

Assalamo alaikum

I extend my best wishes and sincere prayers on the blessed occasion of the Jalsa Salana United Kingdom.
The Jalsa since its inception is an occasion, which brings together friends, family and all members of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat for three days of spiritual renewal. This year’s Jalsa though different to those from years past, takes place against the backdrop of Covid-19 and reflects the precautions and respect for protocols the community continues to take in convening the gathering. The Jalsa’s return after a year’s absence is a very welcome sign as we witness the success of the vaccine programme across the country.

The Ahmadiyya Muslim Community is very much part of this success, as many members have been at the forefront of the response across our NHS and care sectors in particular. Moreover, the hosting of vaccination centres at mosques has also played an important role in ensuring that people are able to begin to return to a sense of normality in their daily lives. This devotion to helping others, especially at a time of their greatest need, is testimony to the continued guidance His Holiness Khaliftaul Masih V, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad Sahib provides and the personal attention he has given, to ensure that Ahmadi Muslims play their part in helping countries across the world build back from the challenges of the pandemic.

May Allah truly bless this convention and to those attending and indeed the many millions who will view the convention through Muslim Television Ahmadiyya (MTA), I wish to convey the fond regards and warmest of salaams on behalf of my family to all Ahmadi Muslims across the world. Jalsa Mubarak!


Paul Scully MP – Minister for Small Business, Consumers and Labour Markets


Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP – Former Foreign Secretary. MP for South West Surrey


Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP – Former Secretary of State for Education. MP for East Hampshire


Fleur Anderson MP – Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office)

Siobhain McDonagh MP – Chair All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for The Ahmadiyya Muslim Community

Tan Dhesi MP – Shadow Minister for Rail. MP for Slough


Harry van Bommel -Former Member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands


Dame Cressida Dick CBE QPM – Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police


Air Marshal Andrew Turner CB CBE MA MSC BA FRAES CCMI – Royal Air Force, Deputy Commander Capability


Archbishop Angaelos OBE – General Bishop Coptic Orthodox Church UK


Rt Rev Bishop Philip Mounstephen – Bishop of Truro, Author of Independent Review for Foreign Secretary on Persecution of Christians


Councillor Richard Field – Mayor of Wandsworth


Councillor Adam Jogee – Mayor of Haringey


Councillor Sushila Abraham – Mayor of Kingston


Councillor Lia Colacicco – Mayor of Brent


Councillor Trish Fivey – Mayor of Sutton


Councillor Roy Chamdal – Mayor of Hillingdon


Councillor Pam Jones – Mayor of Alton Town Council


Councillor Edna Fergus – Mayor of Barking


Councillor John Robini – Mayor of Waverley


Councillor Errol Thompson – Chairperson of Fermanagh & Omagh District Council, Northern Ireland


Meryvn Thomas CMG – Founder & President Christian Solidarity Worldwide (CSW)


Christine Buchholz – Member of the German Bundestag


Lord Sheikh of Cornhill – Co-chair of the APPG on the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity


Baroness Cox – Co-Chair of the APPG for International Freedom of Religion or Belief